Independent label: Art Nouveau, the forerunner of Kajagoogoo, was originally founded in Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, in 1979, as a four-piece avant-garde  instrumental group, with Nick Beggs on bass guitar, Steve Askew on lead guitar, Stuart Croxford Neale on keyboards, and Jeremy "Jez" Strode on drums. Art Nouveau released the one and only single “Fear Machine” on our own label ‘Gimpy Dak Records’. The single sold a few hundred copies, and was played on the John Peel show, but the band were unable to get a record deal. In 1982, they advertised for a lead singer, ultimately auditioning and choosing Christopher Hamill, who then went under the stage name Limahl (an anagram of his surname). The name of the group was then changed to Kajagoogoo, coined by phonetically writing out a baby's first sounds, which gave them 'GagaGooGoo' - and with a minor alteration, it became 'Kajagoogoo'. Distributed By.

81 Art nouveau  Fearmachine  GIMPY DAK DAK 1