Independent label: Mute Records was Founded in 1978 by Daniel Miller, Mute (also known as Mute Records) releases various forms of music, with an emphasis on electronic and experimental pop. In May 2002, the label was acquired by the EMI Group. Mute has spawned many regional and special-interest sublabels, some of which are still active. One offshoot, Parallel Series, even became independent of Mute Records Ltd. Mute also operates Mute Bank Mail Order, which sells the label's merchandise directly to consumers. Mute Bank published two issues of Mute Statement, a softcover book that details the entire discography of the label and includes band profiles and photos of release artwork. Another label strongly associated with Mute is Toast Hawaii, run by Depeche Mode's Andrew Fletcher. In 2002 Mute Records Ltd. was sold to the EMI Group. In 2010 Miller did an agreement with EMI to handle Mute as a semi-independent label again. Therefore he licences the Mute brand from EMI via his company Mute Artists Ltd. although some branded Mute artists remain with EMI. Erasure are an English synthpop duo, consisting of songwriter and keyboardist Vince Clarke and singer and songwriter Andy Bell. They entered the music scene in 1985 with their debut single "Who Needs Love Like That". Following the release of their fourth single "Sometimes", the duo established itself on the UK Singles Chart and became one of the most successful artists of the mid-to-late 1980s and early 1990s. Yazoo was formed in late 1981 by Vince Clarke and Alison Moyet in Basildon, Essex. Clarke, previously the main songwriter and keyboard player for Depeche Mode, also came from Basildon. At that point, he had recorded one album and three singles for Mute Records, including the hits "New Life" and "Just Can't Get Enough". The name 'Yazoo', according to Moyet, came from the labels of old blues albums: Yazoo Records. Yazoo was signed to Mute Records in the United Kingdom and to Sire Records in the United States. Yazoo's initial foray into the US was disastrous, after they received a 3.5 million lawsuit threat over the band's name. Yazoo was renamed Yaz for the US market because the name was already in use by a small American rock band. Yazoo's debut single "Only You", backed with "Situation", was released on 15 March 1982 and rose to number two in the UK. Yazoo's next single, "Don't Go", was released on 3 July 1982 and hit number three. The Assembly were a British synthpop project formed in 1983 in Basildon, England, by Vince Clarke (songwriting, keyboards, backing vocals) and Eric Radcliffe (songwriting, production). Clarke founded The Assembly shortly after disbanding Yazoo (featuring vocalist Alison Moyet), upon completion and distribution of Yazoo's 1983 album, You and Me Both. Feargal Sharkey was hired as a guest vocalist for the A-side of the group's only single, "Never Never". Clarke and Radcliffe had planned to use a different singer on each track the group recorded, but the group disbanded after the release of "Never Never", and no other vocalists were employed by the duo. Depeche Mode are an English electronic music band formed in 1980 in Basildon, Essex. The group's original line-up consisted of Dave Gahan (lead vocals, occasional songwriter since 2005), Martin Gore (keyboards, guitar, vocals, chief songwriter after 1981), Andy Fletcher (keyboards) and Vince Clarke (keyboards, chief songwriter 198081). Clarke left the band after the release of their 1981 debut album, Speak & Spell, and was replaced by Alan Wilder (keyboards, drums, occasional songwriter) with Gore taking over songwriting. Wilder left the band in 1995; Gahan, Gore, and Fletcher have since continued as a trio. Mute Records Ltd. Former Address: 429 Harrow Road London W10 4RE. Distributed By Rough Trade and Spartan Records. 
82 Yazoo  Don'T Go  MUTE YAZ  7 001
82 Yazoo  The Other Side Of Love  MUTE YAZ  7 002
83 Yazoo Nobody'S Diary MUTE YAZ  7 003
90 Yazoo Situation MUTE YAZ  7 004
83 Assembly Never Never MUTE TINY 7 1
85 Vince Clarke And Paul Quinn  One Day MUTE TAG 7 1
88 Depeche Mode  Little 15   MUTE LITTLE 15
88 Silicon Teens Red River Rock MUTE SILI 1

88 Erasure God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (Promo) MUTE XMAS 1
82 Depeche Mode Leave In Silence MUTE 7 BONG 1
83 Depeche Mode Get The Belance Right MUTE 7 BONG 2
83 Depeche Mode Everything Counts MUTE 7 BONG 3
83 Depeche Mode Love In Itself.2 MUTE 7 BONG 4
84 Depeche Mode People Are People MUTE 7 BONG 5
84 Depeche Mode Master And Servent MUTE 7 BONG 6
84 Depeche Mode Somebody MUTE 7 BONG 7
85 Depeche Mode Shake The Disease MUTE 7 BONG 8
85 Depeche Mode It'S Called A Heart MUTE 7 BONG 9
86 Depeche Mode Stripped MUTE 7 BONG 10
86 Depeche Mode A Question Of Lust MUTE 7 BONG 11
86 Depeche Mode A Question Of Lust MUTE 7 BONG 12
87 Depeche Mode Strangelove MUTE BONG 13
87 Depeche Mode Never Let Me Down MUTE BONG 14
88 Depeche Mode Behind The Wheel MUTE BONG 15
89 Depeche Mode Everything Counts MUTE BONG 16
89 Depeche Mode Personal Jesus MUTE BONG 17
90 Depeche Mode Enjoy The Silence MUTE BONG 18
90 Depeche Mode Policy Of Truth MUTE BONG 19
90 Depeche Mode World In My Eyes MUTE BONG 20
93 Depeche Mode I Feel You MUTE BONG 21
93 Depeche Mode Walking In My Shoes MUTE BONG 22
93 Depeche Mode Condemnation (Paris Mix) MUTE BONG 23
94 Depeche Mode            In Your Room (12") MUTE BONG 24
97 Depeche Mode Barrel Of A Gun (12")                  MUTE BONG 25
97 Depeche Mode It'S No Good (Club 69 Remixes) (12")   MUTE BONG 26
97 Depeche Mode Home (12")   MUTE BONG 27
97 Depeche Mode Useless (12")     MUTE BONG 28
97 Depeche Mode Only When I Lose Myself (12")   MUTE BONG 29
2001 Depeche Mode Dream On (12")   MUTE BONG 30
2001 Depeche Mode I Feel Loved (12")   MUTE BONG 31
2001 Depeche Mode Freelove (12")   MUTE BONG 32
2002 Depeche Mode Goodnight Lovers (12")   MUTE BONG 33
2004 Depeche Mode Enjoy The Silence  MUTE BONG 34
2005 Depeche Mode Precious MUTE BONG 35
2005 Depeche Mode A Pain That I'M Used To MUTE BONG 36
2006 Depeche Mode Suffer Well MUTE BONG 37
2006 Depeche Mode John The Revelator MUTE BONG 38
2006 Depeche Mode Martyr MUTE BONG 39
2009 Depeche Mode Wrong MUTE BONG 40
2009 Depeche Mode Peace MUTE BONG 41