Free Hosting

Free Web Hosting with PHP, MySQL, Apache, FTP and more.
Get your Free SubDOMAIN or or...
Create your account NOW at

Cheap Domains

Cheap Domains
starting at $2.99/year



 Independent label: Girls At Our Best! were a post-punk group, founded in Leeds, England in 1979 under the name The Butterflies, who had several UK Indie Chart hits.The group initially consisted of vocalist Judy "Jo" Evans, guitarist James "Jez" Alan, bassist Gerard "Terry" Swift, and drummer Chris Oldroyd. The band took its new name from a line in their track "Warm Girls", which first appeared on their self-financed 1980 debut single coupled with "Getting Nowhere Fast" on their own Record Records (catalogue number RR1). The song reached no 9 on the UK Indie Chart, and was followed up by their second single, "Politics" c/w "It's Fashion!", also initially released on Record Records (RR2), but picked up by Rough Trade Records, reaching no 12. Oldroyd departed to join Music for Pleasure, and was replaced briefly by Paul Simon (not to be confused with the american singer-songwriter) and then by Darren Carl Harper before the next single, "Go for Gold" c/w "I'm Beautiful Now" on Happy Birthday Records (UR4), their biggest indie chart hit, reaching no 4. In October 1981, the group released an album, Pleasure (now with Rod Johnson sharing drumming duties with Harper, who left the band) which came complete with a "Pleasure Bag" comprising of stickers and postcards. It was also the first album to be released on the Happy Birthday label (catalogue number RULP1). The album reached no 2 on the indie chart and no 60 on the UK Album Chart. Their fourth single "Fast Boyfriends" c/w "This Train" (Happy Birthday Records UR6) was released that same year. A final single, "Heaven", was issued in 1982, the band splitting later that year. Alan joined Sexbeat, and later The Tall Boys. Evans made a guest appearance on Thomas Dolby's The Golden Age of the Wireless album in 1982. Dolby had guested on synthesizer on Pleasure.]They recorded one session for John Peel, on 17 February 1981, which was first broadcast 23 February 1981. This was released as a 12" single in 1987 (Strange Fruit Records SFPS029) featuring "China Blue" and "This Train" on the A-side and a medley of other tracks entitled "Getting Beautiful Warm Gold Fast From Nowhere" on the B-side. There was a further BBC session for Richard Skinner. Getting Nowhere Fast was covered by the Wedding Present on their "Anyone Can Make A Mistake" EP. Distributed By Rough Trade.

80 Girls At Our Best Getting Nowhere RECORD RR 1
80 Girls At Our Best Politics!   RECORD RR 2