Independent label: H2O were formed in late 1978 by Ian Donaldson, following the demise of Glasgow punk band “Skroo”. The band’s original line up was Ian on vocals, Davie Wells on Guitar, Alan McGee on Bass and Kenny Dorman on drums, H2O’s first gig was Mayday 79 on the back of a lorrie in Elder Park, Govan, Glasgow. 1980 saw the addition of Ross Alcock on Keyboards, Colin Ferguson coming in on bass and Later still Colin “Biggles” Gavigan on saxophone. The band’s first independent single, on their own Spock label, “Hollywood Dream” was released in 1981 and radio play helped raise the H2O profile. An appearance on BBC Scotland’s “Street Buzz” allowed the band a chance to spread the word (and music) to a larger audience, also a video of the show allowed the band to show to London record companies what they could do. In 1982, with the addition of new guitarists, John Harton and then Pete Kean, The Band signed to RCAand, subsequently, began work on their first recording- deciding at the last moment to put the intended ”A” side “Burn To Win” on the flip side and go with “Dream To Sleep” which spent ten weeks in the charts and reached no.17 in May 1983. Distributed By Spock Recordz.

81 H2o Hollywood Dream SPOCK No Cat Number